Hey, Soul Sister

Wednesday, October 27, 2010


This post is a little more introspective than this blog is used to, but that's okay, because who's really reading it anyway?

I recently read this article in the New York Times, and aside from being interesting from a linguistic point of view, I thought it was an interesting read on sisterly relationships.  I'm a sister, but more than that, I oftentimes wish I had a sister.  I know I've been asking my mom for one for at least the past 5 (maybe 10?) years or so, but unfortunately, I doubt that wish is going to be coming true any time soon.  

Truthfully, I haven't really had a lot of really close girl friends.  I've gone through periods in my life where I've hung out with groups of girls, but with the exception of my penpal, there are no female friends in my life who I've known for more than 6 years.  I have female acquaintances that I've known for awhile, but even those don't go back much further than 6 years.  (Full disclaimer: I've known my penpal since we were 7.)

What I have always had are really close guy friends.  Ever since middle school, I've almost always had a really close guy friend in my life.  Like a lot of friendships, those guys have come and gone.  I've grown apart from them, and I've made new ones.  And it's never really bothered me, because I've always gotten along better with (and honestly preferred to spend time with) guys.

In fact, I was recently having what amounted to girl talk (for me) with a friend (of sorts), and during our conversation, he said to me, "You're a dude's girl."  

And can I tell you?  That may have been the best thing I heard all night, because I'm okay being a dude's girl.  I might even love being a dude's girl.  (And Lord knows it's better than a lot of the other options out there.)  

But that still doesn't change the fact that there are times when I feel like I'm missing out.  There are some things (no, not those types of things) I just wouldn't talk to my guy friends about, and when those things creep up, I start feeling really alone, and it kind of really sucks.  Don't get me wrong - my guy friends are amazing -- the best even, just like brothers -- but some quality girl talk would do me good once in awhile.

Even if the sister ship has sailed at this point, and it certainly has, it'd be nice to have a sister-like girl friend at least.

Read more...

Home

Monday, October 25, 2010


I went home home this weekend to drop my car off (because I just cannot deal with having a car in the city), and I was lucky enough to get home right during the gorgeous leaf-turning season in New England.  I don't care what you say or where you live - there is nothing like autumn in New England.  It's perfectly crisp and cool, the best weather for snuggling up in or with something warm and fuzzy, and the scenery cannot be beat.

I was lucky enough to go to school close to some prime leaf-peeping areas, and even the area where I grew up has some gorgeous views.  All the different shades of leaves is really quite pretty, and reminds me that no matter where I go, New England will always be my home.

Read more...

Next life: ostrich!

Friday, October 22, 2010

I have been on the hunt for an amazing pair of boots for awhile now.  A nice, polished pair of almost-knee-high boots, preferably black, maybe a nice shade of brown.  I've come across a few, but they never fit, because my calves are too wide.  And my legs are too short.  I found a great pair from J.Crew.  I requested the measurements, and measured my calf, and they were allegedly going to fit.

I say allegedly, because I got them earlier this week, and they "fit", but they don't.  I bought extended calf to get a little extra room, and they're a tad too long, and still a bit tight.  I know they will probably stretch, but the truth is, I'm just not a boots person.  But still.  IF I WERE, it'd be nice to find a nice pair that fits.  Stupid calves and short legs.

So I decided.

In my next life*, I'm going to be an ostrich.  This is going to be amazing on so many levels.  First off, I'm going to be a bird, and I kind of always wanted to be a bird.  I'll have pretty long legs.  I'll be able to run at sustained speeds of 30 mph.  Imagine that - long, skinny legs (perfect for boots - I'll need them, because I'll have really ugly toes), and I can run really fast.  Awesome.  (There are cons, sure, but let's just focus on the awesome things.)


Also, look at how cute I'll be!


Marek decided he'd be a turkey vulture, his logic being that then he can be as disgusting as he wants, and no one will care, because it's practically expected of him.  Hmmm....he also says he sees the resemblance in the picture below. :)


*No no, just kidding. I don't believe in a next life.

Read more...

The map means fun

Friday, October 15, 2010


I'm super excited that today's Friday.  Not just because it's Friday and Friday is generally all kinds of awesome.  I'm extra excited because I'm taking the afternoon off and driving down to DC from the Big City.

I get to see my awesome cousin Kate, my favorite airport friend Airport Chris, and maybe some lovely J.Crew blogging friends.  I can't wait!!

Oh, and did I mention?  The COLTS are coming to town to play the Redskins, major score!  Marek and I want to go see every NFL team play at home (basically visit every NFL stadium, but I'm not sure if the University of Phoenix's stadium is considered an NFL stadium), and this will help us knock another one off our list!

The list is tricky, because we've technically been to 4 different stadiums, but only seen 3 teams play at home.  We've seen the Patriots at Gillette Stadium, the Indianapolis Colts at the RCA Dome (old) and Lucas Oil Stadium (new), and the Jets at the Meadowlands/Giants Stadium (old one).  We'll have to go back to the new Giants Stadium and see a Jets AND a Giants home game for them to count.

Read more...

Boston Half Marathon Weekend

Thursday, October 14, 2010

This past weekend we headed home for the Boston Half Marathon.  We left on Saturday pretty early in the morning because His Highness had a vet appointment at 9 AM.  Claudius had a trial day of daycare this week, so we had to get his kennel cough vaccination updated.  After that we dropped him at daycare for the weekend where he got to see his favorite person who's not us. :)

I spent most of Saturday doing laundry, and then we went out to dinner with my parents, which was a lot of fun.  After that, we met up with some of our friends at The Cheesecake Factory to get some dessert.  Because The Cheesecake Factory is all too cool for school and doesn't take reservations, we had to wait for an hour, but we had a lot of fun!  I pigged out and had two desserts (ice cream sundae and lemoncello torte or something like that), and they were totally delicious!


Jaimie and Avi (above) and Sean (below) met up with us, and we had a nice time just chatting and catching up.


Here's Marek and I.  Marek left his leftover cheesecake in my parents' refrigerator, and he was so sad when he remembered it, as we were already about 45 minutes away from them.  Oh well - there's a good reason to go back then!  I am actually not really a big fan of cheesecake, but I will go back for cakes and ice cream any time. :)


Sunday morning we got up early to head into Boston for the Half.  Marek dropped me off at the starting area, and then went and met up with our other friend who came down to watch the race too.  After he dropped me off, I joined all the other runners in the lines for the port-a-potties (gross), and then just wandered around.  I was looking for a friend from high school, as she was running the race, too, and wasn't able to find her, so headed over to the start corrals.  As I was trying to decide which corral to get into, I ran right into her, so we got to chat and catch up.

She was much faster than I am, so when we started, I was on my own (I like it better that way, I think), and everyone was passing me.  This was my third half marathon, and I've noticed that people LOVE to go out fast at the beginning, and I have learned not to pay attention to ALL the people passing me at the start, because I'd rather pace myself and finish without feeling like dying than whiz past people at the beginning.  It was a little while before I started passing people, but I found a girl going at a decent pace that I used to sort of mark myself against.  I tried to stay close to her, and we kept trading off who was ahead or behind (unbeknownst to her), but I finally passed her after 4 or 5 miles, and then I was on my own.


They were not lying when they said the course was a "rolling" course.  The half marathon in Indianapolis is pretty flat, and this one wasn't.  The hills weren't too bad, except for the big one at mile 11.5 or so, which is really one of the least awesome places for a steep hill in a half marathon.  It was tough (I actually stopped and walked for about a minute just to get to the top), but the best part is that it wasn't even the last hill!  They really made you work for your finish.

My goal was simple: get my medal!  The Boston Half requirements for "finishers" are pretty strict.  You have to complete the marathon in 2.5 hours, and if you don't start right at the gun time, then you have even less time to be an official finisher.  The course opened at 8:30 and was closed promptly at 11, so if you weren't done by 11, you weren't considered an official finisher, and didn't get a medal!  (At least not according to the website.)  Based on the runs I had been doing, I was fairly certain I could finish in 2.5 hours (our time in Indy was 2:29), so my private goal was to finish in 2:20, cutting about 9 minutes off my time.  I wanted to finish at a sub-11 minute per mile pace, and I did!  My official time was 2:19 and some change, and my pace was 10:40.  I am so excited (and I got my medal, woo hoo!!).

Here I am enjoying a post-run banana, wearing my pretty medal (take note, Indiana - the Boston Half medal is much prettier than yours!).


Here's Marek and I after the race.  He and our friend met me in the post-race area after, and he took a couple pictures of me running, too.


After the half marathon, we headed back to my parents house and I finished our laundry.  Then we headed out to visit with my cousins.  We went to Red Robin for dinner, and had a ton of fun! I LOVE Red Robin, and I totally pigged out - raspberry limeade, burger, tons of garlic fries (YUMMMM), onion rings, nachos, and chili queso dip.  SO GOOD.  I'm not kidding when I say that my Red Robin meal helped push me forward when I was running.

My cousins have a young son, and it's always fun to see him.  We have been hanging out with them a lot more in recent years, and it's been really nice getting to spend time with so much family.  I can't wait to hang out (and maybe go to Red Robin :)) again!

After dinner we headed back home, and I'm already trying to decide if I want to do another half marathon between now and Indy next May.  I looked up some half marathons in January, but right now I am leaning towards the half marathon in Hyannis at the end of February, but I'm worried that two months won't be long enough in between halfs.  I know there are plenty of hardcore runners out there who could do that, but I'm not sure if I'm there yet.  But as of now, that's what I'm thinking, because there is a lot of travel involved for the other potential halfs (West Virginia, Charleston, or St. Louis).  Decisions, decisions...but the bottom line is I finished the Boston Half in the time I wanted, and that'll be enough to motivate me in my training for now.

Read more...

A little bit of exploring!

Wednesday, October 13, 2010

A nice benefit of living in the Big City is that we take the Royal Beast on a lot of walks, at least a few miles a day.  That's nice for him and for us!

Here's a picture of me and Claudius getting all fancy and cultured and stuff on the Met stairs. :)

Read more...

Local News and other random thoughts

Wednesday, October 06, 2010

So I was going to do another one of those bulletted list posts, because they are oh-so-interesting.  And then I thought maybe I'd update you on what's going on in our lives...but of course the issue with that is letting you know enough that it's interesting, but doesn't give out too much information.

And then I watched the local news, and heard this awesome quote:

Why are you so ASHAMED, Mrs. Levine?  Because you're making people live like animals?
Which in turn reminded me of my favorite local news quote ever:
Small animals are exploding, but it's a DRY heat.
I rarely watch the news.  But sometimes the local news makes it so worth it.  Like the time I watched the news back home and the big story was about a snake who escaped from his owner and sneaked into someone else's room.  They interviewed the MSPCA and even sent a reporter LIVE ON LOCATION to cover the story.  Really?

And I am doing the bulletted list.  Eat your heart out:

  • The half marathon is in 4 days.  I took 3 weeks off from running.  I ran 11 miles on Sunday to see if I should even bother to go home for the half (apparently I should).  Then I woke up on Monday and my hip bones hurt were basically bruised, which was an interesting side effect, to say the least.
  • I bled through my shoe today during my run.  How totally totally awesome.  I feel like a real runner now.
  • My motivation on Sunday is no longer just a shiny medal.  It's a shiny medal AND Red Robin.  Yeah.
  • I took my first run around Central Park on Sunday.  I took my first run in Central Park today.
  • Transformers 3 is filming in DC next week.  I'm going to DC next week.  Coincidence?  Fate?  (Neither...I won't be there when they're actually filming, so woe is me...thanks a lot, OHIO.)
  • Please, please, please, please someone help me find an anti-wrinkle cream that is good for sensitive skin.  I am not kidding about this.  HELP!
  • Remember when I said I wasn't one of those people who lost weight due to stress?  Yeah, apparently I was wrong about that.

Read more...

  © Blogger template The Beach by Ourblogtemplates.com 2009

Back to TOP