Friends, Family, Football

Monday, November 01, 2010

(Writer's note: I've been meaning to write this for two weeks now.  Whoops.)

Not to get all super cheesy on you (oh wait, YES), but do you need anything else in life?  Maybe french fries and ice cream, but really, there's not much else.  Oh, and cookies.

A couple weekends ago I got to escape NYC for DC.  I headed down Friday afternoon, leaving at oh, pretty much the worst time possible.  The trip was supposed to take about 4 hours.  It took 6.  I hit traffic in almost every state I drove through, and I'm not even going to talk about the traffic heading into Dupont Circle.  I stayed with Airport Chris (the titular Friend).

It was nice to get away from NYC for the weekend, and I'll just say that I had a really fun time on Friday and Saturday nights, and just leave it at that.  (We went out both nights.)

Here we are at "The Loud Bar" in DC.  Being a non-local, I always defer to the locals to pick where we're going, and this was a bar we went to the last time I was in DC, in August.  It's not a bad bar, but it's really loud downstairs...hence, The Loud Bar.  And here we are at the bar.  See?  Lots of fun that weekend.

On Friday night, I told Airport Chris that if I gained any weight on the trip, that I was going to blame him, and I have to say, he took his responsibility very seriously - especially considering it was said half-jokingly, and I completely forgot about it the next morning.  This means we walked a million miles on Saturday (but luckily didn't have to walk over the hill the Washington Monument is on, phew), and I wasn't allowed to get any Krispy Kreme donuts. :(


Here's Airport Chris and his roommate.  I was super excited to finally get to meet him!  He is a very nice guy.


If you remember our last trip to DC, you might remember that I utterly failed at taking pictures with a serious face (and at the same Loud Bar, too!).  Apparently everyone can do it but me.


More pictures outside the bar.  We stayed until the very end, way way past my bedtime.


On Sunday, we got a quick breakfast, and then watched some football.  Airport Chris introduced me to the Redskins' fight song, which I never even knew they had.  It's long.  In the afternoon, I headed down to collect Marek from the bus stop, as he came down that day.  On the way back, we stopped by Krispy Kreme and Marek got himself a dozen original glazed donuts, lucky.

After the end of the Patriots game, we headed out to Maryland for the Colts/Redkins game (titular Fooball).  We went with my cousin Kate (titular Family), and we all drove out (since Marek and I were heading right back to NYC after the game).  FedEx Field is very nice - for all of our trips to Indianapolis, there is something so authentic about an open air stadium.


Kate and I both wore our Peyton Manning jerseys (because he's the best)!


The game was the Sunday night game for the week, so the sun was setting as we made our way to our seats.  We got seats up in the highest section, so had a long way up to go, but it was fun.  Plus, any time you're walking uphill, it really helps tone your butt!  Here's Marek waiting for me and Kate to stop taking a billion pictures of the parking lot and the sunset.


Like this one.


And this one.  (If you look at this bigger, you might be able to see DC and the monuments waaaay off in the distance.)  It was a very pretty sight.


Here was the view from our seats.  They were very high up, but very good.  We had a nice view of the whole field.  We had a bunch of Colts fans sitting near us, and some really annoying Redskins fans (who were asked to leave by security, ha!).  And they really did sing the fight song...amazing.


Here's Kate and I after the game, celebrating the win.  As we were heading down, Peyton Manning was walking off the field, and all these Colts fans were gathering around the tunnel, cheering for him.  He even threw some of his stuff to some of the fans, what a guy!  He seemed to appreciate all the fans who were waiting for him.


After that, we headed back to our car, and just sat there for a little bit, waiting for the traffic to die down.  The drive home was pretty brutal...I was already tired from going out two nights in a row (that's what happens when you get old, go to bed at like 10 every night, and hardly ever drink), and wanted to get home early to try to find a parking space.  We finally got home around 5 AM, and were able to squeeze in a few hours of sleep before starting work for the day!

0 comments :

Post a Comment

  © Blogger template The Beach by Ourblogtemplates.com 2009

Back to TOP