2-0-1-4
Thursday, January 09, 2014
I meant to write this post on January 1st, so it is only 8 days late, which is not bad considering that I still haven't finished the posts about our move to Seattle, which means that those posts are 610 days late, which means that as a percentage of days late of the Seattle posts, I'm only at 1% for this post, which is not a horrible way to start off. Also, that was a really long sentence.
I will eventually get to recapping everything that happened since we moved to Seattle (which includes getting married, woo hoo), but I'm trying to ease my way back into blogging.
On our way back home from the BEST coast after Christmas, I ended up on JetBlue, which is great because it has the TVs on each seat. And because our flight was wicked late leaving, they gave us the movies for free (well, at least that's why I'm guessing we got movies for free). After sitting through "We're the Millers" (not bad) and "Elysium" (pretty good), I ended up just surfing around and landed on "50 First Dates", if you remember that.
In it, there's a scene where Drew Barrymore shows Adam Sandler her diary she writes in every night, and I thought, "I should totally do that!" I had good intentions, really. I tried to persuade Marek that I needed this binder with foxes all over it (from Target) for journalling purposes. He was actually persuaded, but then I remembered I had another binder at home - the binder that had been my wedding planning binder until it became way too small.
So I dug that binder out of wherever it was sitting and then put it on my desk. Ready for journalling. Starting January 1st. Then the binder sat on my desk for probably three days before I finally admitted defeat and put it back wherever it had been before.
Then I remembered we have a blog. "We" have a blog. I can just journal here, duh.
I've struggled a lot with what to write about over the years. Sharing too much can often lead to uncomfortable situations or sad posts that nobody wants to read about. I enjoy reading blogs but find myself constantly judging other people for what they post (mostly pity parties and attention-grabbing, "look at me" and/or "feel so sorry for me" posts), and I'm not saying I won't stop doing that, but our lives are not that interesting, so the big question is... what do I write about?
I suppose the past year and a half or so is a good place to start. Also, food. I'm on the bench for the foreseeable future which means I get to eat real food and sleep in my own bed. Can't complain about that. :)
0 comments :
Post a Comment