Fourth of July weekend: Friday (with fireworks!)
Monday, July 05, 2010
We came back last night from a great Fourth of July weekend down the Cape! We left Friday afternoon right after work, and were hoping to beat a lot of the traffic rush down to the Cape, or at least minimize the amount of time we were stuck in traffic. Traffic started around 7 miles before the Bourne bridge, and added about 45 minutes to the drive, which was very manageable.
We stayed with our friend Chris and his family. Once we got there, we dropped off our stuff and set out in search of some food. We were initially going to try to eat at Chapin's in Dennis, but ended up at Captain Frosty's, which Chris describes as "more clam shackish". It's a nice, casual dining place where you order at the counter and they bring your food to you. Chris and Marek had some local seafood fare, and I stuck with chicken. :)
Here's Marek trying his first ever cup of clam chowder. He initially wasn't sure if he liked it, but in the end decided that he did. We stuck around Captain Frosty's for awhile. We had some ice cream after dinner, and then headed out to the beach.
I don't remember the name of the first place we checked out, but I think this is a spot where you can see Sandy Neck beach (or may be Sandy neck beach, not sure). Either way, we stayed here for about 5 minutes, if that, because there were SO many bugs flying around. It was gross. It was nice to go though, because I was hoping to get a couple pictures of the sunset while we were on the Cape.
We headed to another spot to try to watch the rest of the sunset, and there were these boats docked there. It was a very pretty scene - the sun was just about gone, and the water was so calm and still. It was a little secluded spot, and just reminds me why I love the Cape so much.
After that, we headed back to Chris's house. This is me with Jackie, our friend who also lives on the Cape. I hadn't seen her in awhile, and she joined us for dinner, so it was really great to hang out with her! :)
After Jackie left, we decided to set off some fireworks. Chris had picked some up during the week, and we headed out back to light them. Here's a picture of one that Chris got for me, a little army tank. He got Marek these whirly things called "Googles", which spun around and emitted sparks.
Here's some other fireworks he picked up, I think for his family. Cute little chickens and a rooster. There's a cute pillow on the counter at Chris's parents' house that says The rooster crows, but the hen delivers the goods (or something like that), and I've always thought it was so cute.
Chris lighting a sparkler for Marek. Alcohol and fireworks is always a good combination!
Here's Marek with his sparkler lit up. This was the first time in my whole life that I have ever played with sparklers, and they are pretty fun! Although I think they're a little scary, too, but not as scary as the Roman candles we had.
Here is Chris with his sparkler. He picked up a bunch of other fireworks, including the Googles, Roman candles, and some other standalone things that just emitted sparks and then kind of blew up. We had a lot of fun setting them off and then running away as fast as we could. I was terrified of getting burnt or something.
The Roman candles were a lot of fun, but kept getting ash or whatnot in my eye. We set off about 6 of them (I think 2 apiece), and the last thing we did was try to light 3 at once. We each had one, and each candle had about 8 explosions in them, so they were making quite a bit of noise, but it was a lot of fun!

We used this piece of cardboard as the "flat" surface that many of the fireworks called for. For my first time with fireworks, I had a lot of fun, and it was a great time. :)

0 comments :
Post a Comment