The rest of Fourth of July

Tuesday, July 27, 2010

Where were we? Oh, right. I told you what we did on Friday and I told you what we did on Saturday. So we must be on Sunday!


But first, some other fun pictures I found from Saturday. Chris has a camera that is fully submersible without a case, so we goofed around taking some pictures of each other underwater. Not the easiest task if you wear contacts, but I think we managed to pull it off. I think it's fairly obvious who was the least comfortable with this activity.

On Sunday we got up early again (though not as early as Saturday) to head to the beach. I really wanted to go to Mayflower Beach, which is on the bay side, so has very little waves, but lots of nice sand and little seaweed. The nice thing about the beach is that the tide goes WAY out, so at low tide, the beach is huge, and there are sandbars everywhere. It's by far my favorite beach, but is also a very busy beach.

You typically have to be to the beach by around 9 AM, especially on weekends during high season, to get a spot. When we drove down 6A (which probably means nothing to you) a little before 9, the line to Mayflower Beach was already out to 6A...very far (it's at least a couple miles down the road to the beach). We ended up driving around to a couple beaches, and I honestly can't remember where we ended up - might have been Corporation beach.

It was wicked hot on Sunday - noticeably hotter than Saturday, and there wasn't any real breeze. We were frying. The beach was pretty busy, and we napped and chatted. At one point, some Jersey Shore-like family sat in front of us. We spent some time trying to figure out if one of the women was au naturel, if you will. (We decided she likely wasn't.)

Can I just tell you, I was in love this this woman's umbrella. It was so pretty.

The water was cold, but the beach was hotter. We made periodic trips down to swim and cool off. Proof that I was there too! I am only posting this picture because I'm vain and I only post pictures of myself where I decide I look okay. (And yes, it's okay if you're jealous of my cellulite. I am. ;))

Here's our best jump picture of the weekend. Marek crouches down under water, I climb on his shoulders, he stands up, and I jump off his shoulders. Lots of fun. Most of the time, I don't jump though, I just fall and get water up my nose. We did this last summer when we went to the beach with Chris, but I remembered to bring the camera this year so we finally got it on "film".

The beach on the second day had these "Swim Area" buoys up. I'm not sure if they marked the area where you could swim safely from the noise of children, or if you weren't supposed to swim beyond this point. (Side story: we got whistled at by the lifeguards on Saturday as we tried to swim out to a buoy...which the lifeguards then swam past on their little boards while out for a leisurely, show-off, rub-it-in-your-face swim. We all disapproved heavily, especially the former lifeguard in our group.)

After the beach we headed back to Chris's house and showered and then left. Marek and I stopped for dinner at Red Robin (!!!!!), and then we went and saw Toy Story 3 afterwards. We were debating going to the Mendon drive-in to see it, but decided on the theatre because it was earlier, and we were pretty tired. After Toy Story 3 we saw The Last Airbender in dreaded 3D.

Toy Story 3 was good, and The Last Airbender was not. The acting in The Last Airbender was pretty bad, especially the child actors, and the script was pretty lame too. It's too bad, because the story was kind of neat, and I enjoyed the effects.

0 comments :

Post a Comment

  © Blogger template The Beach by Ourblogtemplates.com 2009

Back to TOP