Getting things done in January

Monday, January 31, 2011

Today is the last day of the post-a-day-in-January goal!  Now I can go back to regularly scheduled neglect of this blog!  (Kidding.)

Here are some other things I was able to cross off the 52 in 23* list in January (that you don't already know about):

  • On January 4, we went to the Broadhurst theatre and saw Al Pacino perform in The Merchant of Venice.  Marek got me tickets to the play for my birthday, and we had a really nice time.  Al Pacino and the rest of the cast were fantastic.  (New York #2)
  • On January 25, we received a free Blu-ray player in the mail!  My goal was to buy one, but I figure a free one is even better.  Thanks Mom and Dad!  (TV/Movies #1)
  • On January 26, we went and saw The King's Speech in the theatre near us.  (TV/Movies #2)  We also went and saw Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows Part 1 yesterday, which now brings our 2011 movie total, as of January, to half of our 2010 movie total.  We discovered that the AMC in Times Square does $6 movies on Sunday mornings, so we might be getting to the movies more often.
  • On January 31, I logged my 31st post of 2011.  (Trying new things #5)
I should be able to cross a couple more things off my list this week, but that will be in February, not January.

Read more...

Random round-up (including why I'll never go back to the Olive Garden in Times Square)

Sunday, January 30, 2011

First a couple of addenda to other posts from this week:

  • Other things that gets the hater in me going: when people say Victoria's Secrets, when people chew their gum like a cow chewing on cud, when people chew with their mouths open, when people talk really loudly in public places without any consideration for other people, when little children act badly at the movie theatre
  • Other nicknames for Mr. Claudius: Stinks, Stinkers, Stinkbug, Stinkerdoodle
Now onto why I hate the Times Square Olive Garden.

Marek and I went there for a late lunch today.  The last time we tried to go to Olive Garden, it was in the evening on January 1st, which was a huge mistake.  We could barely get in the door.  Today there was no wait.  As usual, with a big chain restaurant in New York, everyone assumed we were tourists, visiting on vacation or something.  Hello, chain restaurant workers - some people like chain restaurants.  Some people like the Olive Garden, and I don't think it makes me uncultured, stupid, or ignorant to live in "The Greatest City on Earth" and go to an Olive Garden.  I don't care if you're disappointed and can't believe that I would go there.  Frankly, you can bite me.

So we're sitting there having a nice time, and the people behind Marek are being very loud.  There were only four of them, but one couple was doing most of the talking, and here's what we learned about them (because apparently they were intent on making sure the entire restaurant knew all about their private lives):
  • The talkers' names were Erica and James
  • They live together
  • They live about a block from the Forest Hills subway stop
  • They have a friend named Dan who likes to buy drinks for people because he's rich
  • They have a friend named Kevin who got Dan to spend $120 on drinks in the span of about 20 minutes
  • Erica is in grad school and working on her thesis
  • Erica is studying in a field in which the Master's degree is not very competitive
  • James drank a bottle of Jack Daniels recently and had a second one waiting downstairs
  • James has three sisters and a brother
  • One of James's sisters is about 5'7" or 5'8"
  • James is Erica's first boyfriend who is shorter than her
  • Erica got a 690 on whatever standardized test she had to take to get into grad school
  • Her friend got a 720 on same said test
Now I'm not one of those people who think you shouldn't talk at a restaurant.  Talk all you want.  But please don't talk so loudly to the point that I know that much about your life.  Besides the fact that NO ONE ELSE IN THE RESTAURANT CARES, why would you want complete strangers knowing that much detail about your life??  

But the real reason we're not going back there EVER is because the Olive Garden in Times Square automatically tacks on a 15% gratuity during dinner service and for the entire weekend.  They sort of sneak into onto the bill, and you don't have the option to decline this gratuity.  I'm assuming they do it to ensure that tourists don't gip servers out of a good tip, but it becomes an issue because at NO point during our entire trip were we made aware of this policy.

There is no sign anywhere, no one tells you about this, it's not on the menu, and the server certainly didn't point it out when she brought us our bill.  We had to flat out ask her about it, because they just stick it on the bill, and it's included in the overall total, without any explanation.  

A tip is not mandatory.  A tip is supposed to be for good service.  What happens if my service is bad?  (Ours was not exemplary by any means.)  Then I have to ask for the manager, explain that the service was horrible and that I don't feel the server deserves a 15% tip.  AWKWARD.  The worst part is that the server lost out in our situation.  We normally tip 20%, even for just okay service - it takes a lot for us to tip less than 20%, and we've tipped more than that for very good service.  But we were so incredulous at this forced tipping that we "only" left her 15% (and we can talk about how the "minimum" tipping amount has been slowly creeping up some other time).

In our server's defense, she offered to get the manager to have it taken off the bill.  That's not what we wanted - we felt that she deserved that tip and made sure she knew it.  But we strongly objected to being forced to give her whatever Olive Garden deemed appropriate, without having any say in it, and we really objected to the sneaky way in which they just throw it on the bill like it's no big deal.

Because the only time this isn't enforced is during weekday lunch, I can promise you that we won't be going back to the Olive Garden in Times Square ever.

Read more...

Nicknames: Doggie Edition

Saturday, January 29, 2011


Full name: Claudius Weenie

Claud
Claudie
Claud Claud
Claudius Weens
Weens
Weensters
Claudius the Weenie
Claudmeister Deluxe
Claudmeister Deluxe with Cheese
Meist
Meisters
Meest
Meesters
Meestems
Beast
Beastems
Bug
Claudie Bug
Bug Bug
Claudie Bear
Pigeon Wigeon

Read more...

Friday randoms (three days to go)

Friday, January 28, 2011

I'm on the last leg of the post-a-day-in-January challenge!  Only a few days left.

Here's some random things that make me happy today.


I am in serious LOVE with the dress in this picture, which probably means that it costs about $1,000 or something.  Does anyone recognize it?  It was part of a Martha Stewart e-mail blast this morning, and I just love it.  It has so many things in a dress that I like - pink, polka dots, feminine details, short sleeves.  Please, please, help me find it!

And these are a picture of some cakepops that Bakerella made awhile ago.  I have always loved Stitch (Lilo & Stitch is one of my favorite Disney movies), and these are so adorable!  There is no way I could ever eat these.


Hope you all have a great weekend!

Read more...

Professional Hater

Thursday, January 27, 2011


Last week, Marek and I were talking a friend, and he told said friend that I'm a professional hater.  If you know me really well, then you'll know that a) it's kind of true and b) I won't deny it (I would like to thank said friend for thinking this couldn't be true though).

So in the spirit of being a true hater, and having wanted to vent about some of this stuff for awhile, here's a list of people who irritate me to no end:

  • People who say any of the following: Nordstroms, JCPenneys, Barnes and Nobles
  • People who make any of the following grammatical mistakes: use the wrong to/too/two, use the wrong its/it's, use the wrong they're/their/there, say "try and" when they mean "try to", don't know the difference between "lay" and "lie", don't know the difference between "sit" and "set", put apostrophes where they don't belong, and don't use the possessive case with gerunds
  • Faux intellectuals - people who think they're much, much more intelligent than they actually are, and use their pretend intelligence to self-righteously expound on issues of which they have very little knowledge
  • Hipsters
  • People who try to be socially awkward on purpose because they think it makes them cool (Sidenote: are these the original hipsters?  Are they a variant of hipsters?)
  • Naturally thin girls who shove it in your face how much food they eat.  Extra hate for these girls who then complain about being fat.
  • Girls who purposely and unjustifiably put themselves down, especially in a public forum (usually just to hear other people say how untrue it is, even though they likely already know it's untrue).  For example, a pretty girl who always talks about how ugly she is or how horrible she looks in a picture, when she looks fine, or a skinny girl who always talks about how fat she is when her BMI puts her squarely in the underweight category.  Extra hate for these girls.
  • Feminazis
  • Preachy vegans
  • People who talk like valley girls
And I'm sure there's more.

Read more...

Burgers and Kings

Wednesday, January 26, 2011

There's a lot to love about working from home - a LOT.  One major downfall is that if you're like me, and you don't go out a lot to begin with, you can get a little stir crazy.  Tonight we're finally making it back to movies.  The last movie we saw in the theater was Inception or Toy Story 3/The Last Airbender (I can't remember which one came last), and since we've moved to New York, I've been afraid of the movie theaters near us, as they seem to get pretty horrible reviews.

I cannot, however, say no to a cheeseburger, french fries, and root beer, plus a nice helping of a British period drama about one of my favorite subjects (the British monarchy) with an all-star cast.

+

Read more...

In Memoriam

Tuesday, January 25, 2011


The body dies but the spirit goes on.
-Sir John Mills

Read more...

"I like tacos."

Monday, January 24, 2011

So about a week and a half ago I shared my favorite commercials ever with you.

And now here's my current favorite commercial.  It's not even really that funny (at least that's what I've been told), but *I* think it's hilarious.  It makes me laugh like crazy whenever it's on - so I'm really down with any shows that happen to be sponsored by AT&T, because that usually ensures I'll see this commercial.  My favorite moments are when the guy says, "I like tacos" (all serious and such), the way Eric just mindlessly keeps munching on his taco, and the look Bill (I'm assuming it's Bill) gives the guy at the end.


Read more...

What's on our walls: Round 2

Sunday, January 23, 2011

I previously posted a little "tour" of our apartment via the decorations on our walls.  Today I finally got around to hanging up the rest of the stuff we picked out to decorate.

First up is my Peyton Manning Fathead Jr.  Marek got me a full sized Fathead for Christmas last year (2009, no 2010), but since we were in the midst of moving, we never got around to hanging it up, and there is no real good place for it in our apartment now.  There is, however, room for the smaller one, so I hung it up in the corner of the living room.  I love it!


Here's a canvas print we had custom ordered.  I've been wanting to get this picture printed and hung for SO long, so I'm glad we were finally able to get it up!  This is a picture from the Cape last summer, and I edited it a bit in Photoshop to get the colors to be really vibrant (looks more so in person), and we are very happy with it.  Hanging it was kind of a pain, and at one point I actually just put everything down and said I was done with it, but luckily Marek is used to my impatience/temper, so he finished hanging it for me.

We put it up in our living, on the main wall, so it's nice to finally have some visual elements in the room.  Before we just had the one small Cape Cod picture (hmmm...this is a trend, and I have a couple more Cape pictures I'd like to have printed...), but now we've got this one (which is pretty large) and the Peyton Manning Fathead!


Lastly, I hung up my 2011 Peyton Manning calendar in our bedroom.  Working from home, I frequently forget what day it is, so I figured the bedroom was a good place to have a calendar.  Every year we make a custom photo calendar full of pictures of Claudius.  I order one for us and my mom always wants one, and unfortunately our copy is stuck at home in Massachusetts right now, but when we finally get it, it will go in the kitchen/living room area.

Read more...

The iPhone may be better

Saturday, January 22, 2011

I'm posting this from our favorite diner because I decided to be 23 and go out tonight instead of going to bed at 9:30 (or even 8). The cute guy is not here, sadly.

Today was eventful. I woke up and texted with my super cute mom, and then I ragged myself to the Park and ran 10.5 miles. The CNN sign said it was 14 degrees Fahrenheit, which has to be the coldest I've run in so far. Almost all the water in my water bottles froze and there was a huge mass of icicles in my hair. But boy, did I feel accomplished!

Then we went shopping for new running shoes (pink Mizunos and I no longer overpronate apparently) and ballet class attire. We hit up the Corner Bistro for lunch with some friends, and then took a nice long nap.

and now I am at he diner, trying to type on this infernal device. Marek forced me to say it was better so I could use his phone to post!

Read more...

Rest days are the best days

Friday, January 21, 2011

We're nearing the end of January, which typically means that it's time to start half marathon training again.  (Someday I hope to drop the "half" in front of the word marathon...maybe next year!)  I, however, to provide myself with motivation to keep running after the Boston Half Marathon, signed up for the Hyannis Half Marathon.


The nice thing about running a couple of half marathons is that at some point you become fairly conditioned to running longer distances.  Even if you take a couple weeks off, it doesn't take much to get back into the swing of things.  My long runs are a minimum of 7 miles now (and yes, I know that's a cakewalk for all you hardcore runners out there!), and I'm working my way up to a 9 or 10 mile minimum.  Soon.

I also started doing Jillian Michaels's 30 Day Shred video, which is not bad.  We have no room for anything exercise-related except hand weights, so the video is a good way to get strength training in with minimal equipment.  It's a "20 minute" workout (really takes 27 minutes and change), but it's not too bad.  I typically can't stick with exercise videos, but this one's pretty bearable.  I've done it for about 10 days now, and it seems to be working.

My workout schedule looks like this:
  • Monday: Regular, easy run (3.5 miles) + 30 Day Shred
  • Tuesday: 30 Day Shred + Ballet class
  • Wednesday: Hills (4.5 miles) + 30 Day Shred
  • Thursday: Fast run (3.5 miles) + 30 Day Shred
  • Friday: Intervals run (3.5 miles) + 30 Day Shred
  • Saturday: Rest
  • Sunday: Long Run (varies per week, 7 miles minimum)
My training schedule centers around the long run, so I might change days based on when that is.  Today I'm taking a full on rest day because tomorrow is the long run, and Sunday will be a short day, and then Monday will probably be intervals.  Tuesday is always a non-running day (just the way it has worked out), so that's nice, but I am starting ballet classes next week so I'm excited to still get out and get some exercise on Tuesdays.

But today is a true rest day, and that is the best day of the week!  Everyone needs a day just to be lazy and relax sometimes. :)

Read more...

Thoughts for thinking: Things I'd Like to Do

Thursday, January 20, 2011

A companion piece to yesterday's post.  This isn't a list of things I'd like to accomplish this year or when I'm X years old or any of that stuff.  This is just a not-even-trying-to-be-complete list of things I wish I could do.  Maybe someday I'll be able to do some of them.

  • Play the harmonica
  • Figure out the controls on the XBox enough to play Madden, so that I can actually play and not just haphazardly smash at the buttons and hope something good happens (a lofty goal, indeed)
  • Count cards (I played a lot of Blackjack tonight...fascinating stuff)
  • Do a handstand (on the ground, not just underwater)
  • Ride a horse (I've done this once - so fun!)
  • Use a sewing machine
  • Mend clothes
  • Play touch football (preferably co-ed teams)

Read more...

Thoughts for thinking: Things I Used to Do

Wednesday, January 19, 2011

A not-even-trying-to-be-comprehensive list of things that I used to do.  Many of these things I really enjoy doing, so I hope this is only a temporary postponement.

  • Cross-stitch (the mouse having a picnic with her friends is waiting to be finished)
  • Swim (the most calming thing for my anxiety...has been replaced by running)
  • Ballet (hopefully starting this next week)
  • Play the piano (I forgot most of what I know)
  • Play the flute (ehhhh)
  • Bake (difficult to do in this tiny apartment)
  • Get up before 8 AM (no need, so why bother)
  • Write, creatively (have been itching to get back into this)
  • Watch baseball (highly, highly unlikely to resume this in any type of full- or even part-time capacity)
  • Play Halo 3 ("Where's the dinosaur!?  Where's the dinosaur!?")
  • Go to the mall every weekend (done with that, thank God)
  • Understand Latin (I'm coming for you, Wheelock, someday...)

Read more...

Why I hate TV

Tuesday, January 18, 2011

Every day, I get a "Daily TV Watch" e-mail from Entertainment Weekly, the only non-cooking magazine that's been able to maintain my subscriber-ship for more than one year.  It includes a spotlight on an interesting show worth checking out tonight, and recaps from the latest episodes of many shows.

Here's a screenshot of today's "Latest Recaps".  With my apologies to all of you who like any of these shows (because Lord knows my taste in, well, pretty much any media, is nothing to admire), but this is why I hate TV.  Does Entertainment Weekly honestly think there was nothing better on TV in the past few days to spotlight as a recap worth checking out?  Sure, the reality recaps are typically the dishiest and most fun to read, but really.


I stopped watching primetime dramas after an episode of "CSI" gave me nightmares for weeks (seriously).  When you stop watching primetime dramas, it's easy to stop watching primetime sitcoms, or primetime anything, really (except for primetime football).  I had a handful of reality competition shows I would watch, but I've successfully quit almost all of those in the past year.  

In the interest of full disclosure, I watch a few shows in a regular basis:
  • "Jeopardy!" - I tape this every night and watch 2 or 3 episodes in batches.  Yelling out the answers and yelling at Alex Trebek is not optional.  It took me five years to be able to watch this show again.
  • "Chopped" - A cooking competition show on the Food Network.  Half the reason I tune in is to see if Marc Murhpy is judging, I'll admit it.
  • "Top Chef" - Another cooking competition show on Bravo.  If only they'd get rid of the awful Padmabot...
I watched "Project Runway" last season, but I haven't decided if I'm going to continue watching that, as I barely pay attention, so hardly know what's going on.  Other recent shows that I enjoyed ("Justice" and "Jake In Progress") were short-lived, and thus I have little interest in watching TV.  Which is probably not a bad thing, if the above graphic is any indication of what the public is craving for consumption lately.

Read more...

What's on our walls

Monday, January 17, 2011

Today I thought I'd share with you what's currently on our walls.  (You can click the pictures if you want to view any of them larger.)

Our only picture (for now) in the living room - this is a picture from Cape Cod.  A couple years ago we were down the Cape, SCUBA diving with our friend, on the eve of a hurricane.  (Not the best planning).  Between almost getting stranded out in the ocean and potentially becoming a feature on the 6 o'clock news, we also had to physically push and drag the boat back towards the harbor for awhile due to the changing tides.  I love this picture, and it serves as a great reminder of a great adventure.


In the hall, we have a couple of pictures.  We pulled this one right from IKEA for our first apartment.


The top picture is a gift I received from a group of friends at school when I graduated.  I was really surprised and extremely touched to get this!

The bottom picture is a commemorative plaque from the RCA Dome that includes a piece of the artificial turf from the dome.  I was lucky enough to see the Colts play in their last year in the RCA Dome (when they came so close to ending the Patriots' 16-win season).


In the bedroom, I hung up my Boston Half Marathon bib over the bed.  Even though I've run the Mini marathon twice now, I was really happy to finish the Boston Half, so I like to have this around as motivation to keep running and keep trying to get better.


Here's a bulletin board in the bedroom with a whole mess of pictures.  The "Eat Mor Chikin" card is from Chick-Fil-A, my favorite fast food place ever!  The postcards (cat and dog sleeping, guys eating while doing handstands) are from college, as is the "Bad Andy Good Pizza" picture.  In the lower left is my "I Climbed Mt. Washington" sticker, which I got after I successfully hiked up the mountain.  At the top is a PUMA Sailing postcard - I love the water, and would love to learn how to sail someday!  I also have a couple postcards of animals from the Denver Zoo, as well as my Colts beads and our Parkhopper Passes from our trip to Disney World in 2009.  In the middle of the board is a card that my parents and brother sent me when I was in college and going through some tough times.  I keep it around because I like the message on it, and it's a constant reminder of their support.


These are a couple pictures that I picked up in college - one is from Cinderella and the other is from The Little Mermaid.




This one is another IKEA creation.  It combines a lot of things I like - the color purple, hearts, flowers, and silver accents!


This one is right by the bed.  The little animals are Hoops & Yo-Yo, whom I love!  I think they are the cutest, and I have a few little plush figures of them.  There's another set of Colts beads hanging up, along with the tickets to all the Colts games I've been to!

Read more...

Why I lost it on the Quiet Car

Sunday, January 16, 2011

The Quiet Car on the Amtrak trains is good, in theory.  It has two simple rules: conduct conversations in a low voice, and no cell phone calls.  I also feel like there's an implied rule that you just don't have conversations in general.  Almost everyone I see on the Quiet Car, even when they're travelling with someone else, just sits in their seat, being quiet - watching movies, reading, listening to music, sleeping, etc.  In other words, not talking.

My beef with the Quiet Car, aside from the people who think that "Quiet Car" means "Quiet-When-I-Feel-Like-It Car", is that I rarely see (or hear of) conductors telling people to be quiet when they're openly talking or being loud or on their cell phones.

I had a gentleman in front of me who had a friend farther up the car.  This friend came to talk to him twice.  He stood there, leaning over the seat, just chatting together in normal, regular, tones.  Distracting, a bit irritating, but nothing big.  Then said gentleman got on his cell phone and started chatting away with whomever he was meeting in the city.  The conductor came by.

And he made my day.

"SIR, THIS IS THE QUIET CAR!" he thundered, gesturing wildly at the sign that outlines the rules for the Quiet Car.  He told the passenger to hang up his phone, and actually stood there and waited until he hung up his phone.  Major love for that conductor.

Then about an hour from the station, his little friend came back.  He leaned over the seat, chatting away in regular volume voices again.  At which point, I couldn't take it anymore, and the following exchange ensued:

Me: Could you NOT?!
Friend: Yeah, yeah, it's the Quiet Car, don't worry, I'll keep my voice down, calm down.  <Followed by a giant eyeroll and a smirk to his friend.>
Me: No! This is the THIRD time you've been down here!  He's already been yelled at for talking on his phone.  This is the QUIET CAR, why don't you have some RESPECT!

Yes, I'm that person...

Read more...

Home for the weekend!

Saturday, January 15, 2011


This weekend, I am home, yippee!!  I love my hometown, and I love getting to spend time with my family.  I love getting to drive a car again (and sing in the car!) and go to a real shopping mall/shopping plaza and eat at chain restaurants.  Honestly.  All of the things that a lot of city people turn their noses up at - I actually heard a girl say that only idiots would go eat at Olive Garden when they live in New York City (umm, hello, maybe some people just like the Olive Garden!) - are things that I love and miss about home.  The city certainly has its perks, and it's growing on me, but it still doesn't feel like home yet.

My primary reason for the trip home was to serve on an alumni panel at orientation for one of my alma maters, which is always fun.  Last time I was on the panel, I saw my cousin (who I knew would be there), but also ran into another guy I worked with when I was an undergraduate, and he was just a high schooler.  Now he's in graduate school, and wow, did that ever make me feel old.

Read more...

My favorite commercials EVER

Friday, January 14, 2011

Everyone has their favorite commercials.  I'm currently loving those Allstate commercials with the Mayhem guy - they totally crack me up.  I also love the AT&T commercial where the guy wants to know why he wasn't invited to the taco party outside Bill's office.  Marek says it's not that funny, but I love it.  I'll even rewind the TV just to watch.

But my all time favorite commercials ever are the VW Unpimp the Auto commercials.  I can't remember when these ran, but I love them - Peter Stormare is one of my favorite actors, and these commercials always make me laugh.






Read more...

Pretty dresses for a cold day!

Thursday, January 13, 2011

In my previous blogging life, I blogged almost exclusively about clothes.  After I had depleted my entire life savings on pretty, frivolous things I had practically no need for, I took a general hiatus from shopping.  Now that I work from home, I really have no reason to buy clothes, well, at all.  I've got more t-shirts, jeans, and sweats than you can shake a stick at (and in NYC, no place to keep them).

I never thought of myself as particularly sartorially-inclined, but since I've moved to the city and essentially become a hermit, I'm even less so.  I get up in the morning and think, Hmmmmm, shall I wear the pair of sweatpants that are one size or two sizes too big today?  Or should I wear a pair of yoga pants?  If I don't run first thing in the morning, I wear my pajamas until noon.  If I have a day off from running, maybe I'll wear my pajamas all day.  It's a glamorous existence, really.

If I had to pick a type of clothing, and it was the only kind of clothing I could wear for the rest of my life, it'd be dresses.  Hands down, I don't even have to think about it.  Dresses, all the way.

But when you spend all day inside, and only leave the apartment to run and walk the dog, dresses aren't exactly the star of your wardrobe.  But that doesn't mean I can't treat myself.  I have some fun trips planned for this upcoming year (mostly weekend trips and a road trip that I'm beyond excited for), and I've been picking up some dresses in anticipation.





These two I am still undecided about, but I may be making them mine in the weeks to come.


Read more...

You're getting absolutely nothing today

Wednesday, January 12, 2011

But when I click the Publish Post button, that will satisfy my post-a-day-in-January obligation.

But quick, before I go--

A very big, native American English (Eastern Massachusetts dialect) HELLO to my friends from Antimoon who might be checking out my blog!  I hope you will find plenty of real-life examples of colloquial, idiomatic, and general, casual American English here.


 And this is the coolest blog you're not yet reading.

Read more...

What is he digging for?

Tuesday, January 11, 2011

[Warning: There's 30 seconds of barking, followed by 30 seconds of puzzling cuteness.]


Read more...

Give me a moment...

Monday, January 10, 2011

The reason I failed so miserably at writing a post a day in December is because it's difficult.  Unless I'm recapping something I did, it's generally a boring post that few people read.  (Except for the Island 5 posts, which get a lot of hits because I borrow images from the internet, and somehow people find their way here because of them.  And if you're one of those people, OMG HI!)

Today I've got nothing for you.

And I just spent about an hour and a half meticulously comparing a PDF contract with a OCR-to-text-saved-as-Word contract to ensure that they were the same, only to go back and re-read the original "Can you do this, please?" e-mail and see that I didn't need to read about three-quarters of the document.

And I still have to get another project done for tomorrow morning.

And tomorrow was supposed to be my day off from running, and I was so looking forward to it, except now the weather says it's going to snow tomorrow afternoon until Wednesday morning, so I have to run tomorrow because it's likely I won't be able to run Wednesday.

And I have to get up super early to get my run in because I have a meeting first thing in the morning.

So.

If you want to send me some cookies to make me feel better, feel free.  (In all seriousness, those chocolate chip cookies are so good.  I might have bought a bag, said, "I'll only eat two", and then ate six, and then went back and bought a second bag, all within a half an hour.)

Read more...

A day at the museum

Sunday, January 09, 2011

One thing I've really enjoyed about living in New York is the access to the arts.  I'd been wanting to see the Race to the End of the Earth exhibit at the American Museum of Natural History almost since we found out we were moving to New York.  We never seemed to find time to go, and the exhibit was closing in a few days, so we finally got ourselves over there on New Year's Eve.

What a great exhibit!  The exhibit told about the race between Amundsen (Norwegian) and Scott (British) to be the first person to the South Pole.  We learned a lot of really interesting facts about polar exploration in general, and got to follow the journey of both parties in their race to the pole.  I loved the exhibit, and was so glad we were able to make it down.  I've already added a bunch of polar-related books to my Amazon wishlist.

My one issue with the exhibit is that it was very pro-British.  Amundsen and his team were very focused on getting to the pole, and that was their driving force and only goal.  The exhibit wanted to paint him as a cold-hearted jerk who only cared about making it to the pole first, and maybe that's true, but going through the exhibit, there definitely seemed to be a bias.  For example - the exhibit was somewhat interactive, and despite the fact that Amundsen got to the South Pole first, the "look and see" part of the exhibit displayed a picture of Scott's team at the pole.

Still, it was a really great exhibit, and I'm very glad we didn't miss it.

And then here's some pictures from the rest of the museum.  We walked around a bit before and after the exhibit.

Here are the dinosaurs in the lobby.
One of the dinosaurs is REALLY tall.
Here are some hawks and vultures, in one of the bird halls.  I love birds (thanks, Grampy!), so I really enjoyed this part of the museum.  We didn't have too much time to look at them very closely, and part of the bird hall was closed, so we're definitely planning on making a trip back to see the birds again.
Here's a hawk up close.  Look at those talons!
I think this is an opossum?
Here are some dead bats.
This is a skunk next to a raccoon.  I know they're trash pickers and infested with rabies, but I think raccoons are so cute!  And I've always wanted a de-smellified skunk as a pet.  One year, we thought of dressing Claudius as a skunk for Halloween - all he needs is a fluffier tail and the white stripe!
More birds - owls this time.
I like the horned owls the best.
After the exhibit we went and checked out the dinosaurs and extinct mammal ancestors.  First up was this giant flying dinosaur.  There were a couple of these hanging from the ceiling.
Check out this guy - look how happy he looks!
See?  Happy, or ready to rip your face off, either or.
Here's a giant happy turtle.  He looks kind of high to me...
Some underwater thing, suspended from the ceiling.
Another underwater creature.
(Shark?) Jaws! RAR!
I think this is a mastodon, or some other animal like that.  I don't know about you, but it's crazy to me that these animals used to just roam around.  It makes you feel really small and insignificant.
Another tusked animal.
I would not want to run into this guy out on the prairie!  (Or anywhere else.)
This guy cracked me up.  Check out his huge antlers!  Look at the smirk on his face, too.  He knows how badass he looks.  The exhibit said that these antlers would regrow every year!
This was one of those situational exhibits - the animal on the right is about to gobble up the tiny, leaping animal on the left.  Run!
Some type of ancient bear, perhaps?  We were on our way out, so I didn't stop to see what this was.
I have no idea what this display was.  I think it was showing the evolution of mammal ancestors over time (different characteristics and how they developed).
Triceratops!
Stegosaurus!

Read more...

  © Blogger template The Beach by Ourblogtemplates.com 2009

Back to TOP