Why I lost it on the Quiet Car
Sunday, January 16, 2011
The Quiet Car on the Amtrak trains is good, in theory. It has two simple rules: conduct conversations in a low voice, and no cell phone calls. I also feel like there's an implied rule that you just don't have conversations in general. Almost everyone I see on the Quiet Car, even when they're travelling with someone else, just sits in their seat, being quiet - watching movies, reading, listening to music, sleeping, etc. In other words, not talking.
My beef with the Quiet Car, aside from the people who think that "Quiet Car" means "Quiet-When-I-Feel-Like-It Car", is that I rarely see (or hear of) conductors telling people to be quiet when they're openly talking or being loud or on their cell phones.
I had a gentleman in front of me who had a friend farther up the car. This friend came to talk to him twice. He stood there, leaning over the seat, just chatting together in normal, regular, tones. Distracting, a bit irritating, but nothing big. Then said gentleman got on his cell phone and started chatting away with whomever he was meeting in the city. The conductor came by.
And he made my day.
"SIR, THIS IS THE QUIET CAR!" he thundered, gesturing wildly at the sign that outlines the rules for the Quiet Car. He told the passenger to hang up his phone, and actually stood there and waited until he hung up his phone. Major love for that conductor.
Then about an hour from the station, his little friend came back. He leaned over the seat, chatting away in regular volume voices again. At which point, I couldn't take it anymore, and the following exchange ensued:
Me: Could you NOT?!
Friend: Yeah, yeah, it's the Quiet Car, don't worry, I'll keep my voice down, calm down. <Followed by a giant eyeroll and a smirk to his friend.>
Me: No! This is the THIRD time you've been down here! He's already been yelled at for talking on his phone. This is the QUIET CAR, why don't you have some RESPECT!
Yes, I'm that person...
2 comments :
Tell them girl! QUIET = QUIET, not talking softly! :)
I was so embarrassed afterwards; my face was so red. But seriously - if you're going to talk, just sit in another car!!
Post a Comment