Message to Hyundai: STOP
Sunday, January 02, 2011
I was sitting here trying to think of something to write (January's going to be a long month), and those stupid stupid STUPID STUPID STUPID Hyundai commercials have been running almost every commercial break, so bingo - topic of today's post.
For I don't even know how long, Hyundai has been running three Christmas-themed commercials with this highly obnoxious boy/girl hipster duo singing Christmas carols (Jingle Bells, Up on the Housetop, and Deck the Halls). Before we even go any further - HELLO HYUNDAI, it's JANUARY 2nd. Besides the fact that your commercials suck and are ear-bleedingly horrible, Christmas has been over for more than a week now, so time to pull your commercials on topic alone. (Same goes for you, Lexus, with your stupid red bows.)
There aren't enough words to describe how much I hate these commercials. Every time they are on, I either mute them, or, if I'm not close to the remote, yell, "AHHH!!! MUTE MUTE MUTE MUTE MUUUUUUUTE!" and cover my ears until Marek puts it on mute. EVERY TIME, no lie.
The commercials are so grating. From the first jingle, I just have this horrible repulsion as soon as it comes on. Our friends were here this weekend for New Year's, and one of the commercials came on, and our friend actually wondered out loud if the girl in the group was a boy or a girl.
But my favorite commercial-related story is the one my Dad told me over Christmas. We were probably watching football, and one of the commercials came on. I started telling him how much I hate the commercials, and he started laughing. He told me that the Boston sports talk radio station had devoted at least a half an hour to talking about how ugly the girl in the commercial was (kind of harsh).
If you haven't seen them (lucky you!), feel free to look them up on YouTube. I refuse to post them here - if I never hear them or see the singers again, it will be too soon.
0 comments :
Post a Comment